OpenAcademy® Faculty

Mark Lowenthal, President of the Intelligence & Security Academy (History of U.S. Intelligence, Introduction to U.S. Intelligence, Analyst Training: Writing Analysis & Preparing Briefings; Cyberforce Superiority) has served as Assistant Director of Central Intelligence (ADCI) for Analysis & Production; Vice Chairman for Evaluation, National Intelligence Council; Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for Intelligence; and Staff Director, House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence (HPSCI).  Dr. Lowenthal is the author of the standard college/graduate school textbook on intelligence, Intelligence: From Secrets to Policy, now in its 6th edition (CQ Press).  He also serves as an adjunct professor at the Johns Hopkins University.  In 1988, Dr. Lowenthal was the Grand Champion on the television quiz show Jeopardy!

Ron Marks (Intelligence Budget Process) served in the CIA as an analyst & a clandestine service case officer, including tours as a Senate Congressional Liaison officer; Special Assistant to the ADCI for Military Support; & senior Budget Director at the National Reconnaissance Office.  In the U.S. Senate, he was Intelligence Counsel to Majority Leaders Bob Dole and Trent Lott.  Mr. Marks is an Adjunct Professor at the National Defense University & a Senior Fellow at the George Washington University Homeland Security Policy Institute.

Craig Stevenson (Cyberforce Superiority) is the lead instructor of the Cyber Exploitation Unit at Raytheon Solipsys, a wholly owned subsidiary of Raytheon Company. In this role he has been instrumental in the design and development of the Cyberforce Superiority curriculum. Mr. Stevenson has ten years of experience as a Software Engineer and more than 1000 hours of teaching experience. He received his B.A. in computer science from Saint Mary’s College of Maryland and has M.A.s in Mathematics from both Kent State University and Virginia Commonwealth University. He is on the adjunct faculty at Johns Hopkins University. He has also been an adjunct faculty member in the Mathematics Department at Virginia Commonwealth University and Kent State University.